It’s a carrot thing…

Oh dear, I have a feeling I will never get a full night’s sleep. On my days off, I am cooking and taking pictures. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE my cooking and baking weekends, they let me get through the rest of the week :)  True, it takes a lot of time but still when people ask me what I do for fun, I say bake and take photos. ‘What else?’ they say. I say, ‘Umm what?’ :)

My first time making a carrot cake and Avoca recipe. This is by far the most moist carrot cake I have ever had. I didn’t change the recipe at all, it was perfect. So carroty, that hint of spice, yummy! Such a classic recipe, old fashioned, traditional. But what could be better? It is not avant garde, but who cares :)

To make 2 loaves of this fabulous carrot cake, you need;

  • 400g caster sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 400ml sunflower oil
  • 400g self- raising flour
  • 1 teaspoon mixed spice
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 400g grated carrots
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • For topping;
  • 175g low-fat cream cheese
  • 50g unsalted butter
  • juice and grated zest of 1/2 lemon
  • 350g icing sugar
Carrot cake recipe, best carrot cake recipe ever, delicious carrot cake recipe
Carrot cake ingredients

Method;

Preheat the oven to 170C. Line two loaf tins with baking parchment. Whisk the sugar, eggs and oil together until pale. Then mix in the flour, mixed spice & salt. Now, stir in the grated carrots and vanilla essence. Pour the mixture into the tins and bake in an oven for 1 hour or until a skewer inserted in the centre comes out clean. Leave  on the baking parchment to cool completely.

Carrot cake recipe, Best carrot cake recipe, Delicious carrot cake recipe
Carrot cake – baking in progress
Carrot cake recipe, Best carrot cake recipe, Delicious carrot cake recipe
Carrot cake – baking in progress

To make the cheesy yummy topping;

Beat the cream cheese, butter, lemon juice and zest together. Then beat in the icing sugar. Finally, spread on top of the cooled cakes.

Carrot cake recipe, Best carrot cake recipe, Delicious carrot cake recipe
Carrot cake by Cook it Eat it Love it

Now, tea or coffee? :) Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “It’s a carrot thing…

Leave a Reply

